Remembrance

It is with sadness that the Academy notes the passing of the following members.*

Chinua Achebe – March 21, 2013; elected to the Academy in 2002

Paul Joel Alpers – May 19, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1996

Robert Lyle Bishop – February 7, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1958

George Edward Pelham Box - March 28, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1974

Donald Lyman Burkholder – April 14, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1992

Francis Hettinger Clauser – March 3, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1959

William Wallace Cleland - March 6, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1977

Christian René de Duve – May 4, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1971

Joseph Frank – February 27, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1969

Emil Frei III – April 30, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1999

Donald Glaser – February 28, 2013; elected to the Academy in 2003

John J. Gumperz – March 29, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1991

Robert Lee Hill – November 29, 2012; elected to the Academy in 1974

Robin M. Hochstrasser – February 27, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1982

François Jacob – April 19, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1964

Hilary Koprowski – April 11, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1974

Anthony Lewis - March 25, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1991

Tony Maxworthy – March 8, 2013; elected to the Academy in 2001

Ian Munro Ross – March 10, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1981

Francis Hugh Ruddle – March 10, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1977

Mary Ellen Rudin – March 18, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1991

Janos Starker – April 28, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1999

Karl Karekin Turekian – March 15, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1992

Kenneth Neal Waltz – May 12, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1980

Calvert Ward Watkins – March 20, 2013; elected to the Academy in 1973

Klaus Wyrtki – February 5, 2012; elected to the Academy in 2007

*Notice received from February 27, 2013 to May 31, 2013